Farewells are draining

July 22, 2008

The packing is killing me. Sorting out all my uni paperwork is a gargantuan task and getting my finances in order is a big bitch. Fifteen million things on my to-do list. Then there’s explaining to my boss that I broke her transcribing machine and left the last interview unfinished. I probably would not have enough time to do my Bondi to Coogee walk and go back to my favourite museums. I wouldn’t have enough time to say goodbye to everyone either. That, or THEY wouldn’t have enough time. This day alone so many people have cancelled I’ve already lost count. I moved heaven and earth to keep tonight free so I can have a nice dinner at home and spend quality time with someone I particularly wanted to bid farewell to, then I get that disappointing phone call. Story of my life. I think I should just spare myself the agony and just get on the plane without going through all that farewell jazz. I was never good with goodbyes anyway. My heart rips into tiny little shreds every single time. Note to self: do not get attached to people and places again.

2 Responses to “Farewells are draining”

  1. Allan Says:

    i don’t think that’s possible. though… it is so hard to harden one’s heart…


  2. I referred my friends to your blog post and they really appreciated it.


Leave a Reply

